Two unbeaten women’s teams in National Masters

GUELPH – Two teams remain undefeated in the women’s category following play Thursday at the Hy-Grade Steel Roofing Canadian Masters Curling Championships at the Guelph Curling Club.

Gwen Wooley of Manitoba and Delores Syrota of Saskatchewan finished the day tied atop the women’s championship pool with perfect 6-0 records. British Columbia’s Janet Klebe and Ontario’s Dale Curtis of the Galt Curling Club followed at 5-1.

The women had a lone draw Thursday, their first of the championship and seeding pools.

Wooley downed Ellen Brennen of New Brunswick 10-1 and Syrota defeated Northern Ontario’s Barbara Ward 6-4.

The top four in each of the two preliminary pools advanced to the championship pool while the bottom two moved on to the seeding pool. They carried their preliminary records with them.

There were no undefeated teams in the men’s category. Top of the list were Al Hackner of Northern Ontario and Jim Wilson at Saskatchewan who were each at 6-1 while Fred Armstrong of Alberta was at 5-2.

In the first draw of men’s championship pool play Thursday night, Hackner edged Gary Oke of Newfoundland and Labrador 6-5 and Wilson slipped by Ken Watson of British Columbia 5-4.

Championship and seeding pool play was to continue Friday and Saturday morning. The semifinals are slated for Saturday afternoon while the medals games are to go Sunday – the women at 10 a.m. and the men at 2 p.m.



Northern Ontario (Hackner) 6-1
Saskatchewan (Wilson) 6-1
Alberta (Armstrong) 5-2
Prince Edward Island (Hope) 4-3
British Columbia (Watson) 4-3
Ontario (Delaney) 4-3
Newfoundland & Labrador (Oke) 4-3
Quebec (Sleno) 4-3
Ontario Host (Lyle) 3-4
Nova Scotia (Ogden) 3-4
New Brunswick (MacDiarmid) 2-5
Manitoba (Franklin) 2-5
Northwest Territories (Delorey) 1-6
Yukon (Hilderman) 1-6
Saskatchewan (Syrota) 6-0
Manitoba (Wooley) 6-0
British Columbia (Klebe) 5-1
Ontario (Curtis) 5-1
Alberta (Foster) 3-3
Prince Edward Island (Hope) 3-3
New Brunswick (Brennen) 2-4
Northern Ontario (Ward) 2-4
Quebec (Trudel) 2-4
Nova Scotia (Labelle) 2-4
Newfoundland & Labrador (Rockwell) 0-6
Yukon (Johnson) 0-6


Thursday Results

Draw 10
Newfoundland & Labrador (Oke) 6 Northwest Territories (Delorey) 5
Manitoba (Franklin) 7 Yukon (Hilderman) 4
Saskatchewan (Wilson) 5 Ontario (Delaney) 4 (extra end)
Nova Scotia (Ogden) 7 Prince Edward Island (Hope) 2
Alberta (Armstrong) 6 British Columbia (Watson) 5
Quebec (Sleno) 6 Ontario Host (Lyle) 5
Draw 11
Ontario (Curtis) 6 Alberta (Foster) 2
British Columbia (Klebe) 6 Prince Edward Island (Hope) 3
Manitoba (Wooley) 10 New Brunswick (Brennen) 1
Saskatchewan (Syrota) 6 Northern Ontario (Ward) 4
Nova Scotia (Labelle) 9 Newfoundland & Labrador (Rockwell) 2
Quebec (Trudel) 10 Yukon (Johnson) 2
Draw 12
Nova Scotia (Ogden) 8 Northwest Territories (Delorey) 4
New Brunswick (MacDiarmid) 8 Manitoba (Franklin) 4
Yukon (Hilderman) 10 Ontario Host (Lyle) 6
Northern Ontario (Hackner) 6 Newfoundland & Labrador (Oke) 5
Alberta (Armstrong) 9 Prince Edward Island (Hope) 7
Saskatchewan (Wilson) 5 British Columbia (Watson) 4
Ontario (Delaney) 4 Quebec (Sleno) 2


Friday Games

Draw 13 (8:30 a.m.)
Sheet B: New Brunswick (MacDiarmid) vs. Yukon (Hilderman)
Sheet C: Ontario Host (Lyle) vs. Nova Scotia (Ogden)
Sheet D: Northwest Territories (Delorey) vs. Manitoba (Franklin)
Sheet F: Quebec (Trudel) vs. Nova Scotia (Labelle)
Sheet H: Newfoundland & Labrador (Rockwell) vs. Yukon (Johnson)
Draw 14 (12:00 p.m.)
Sheet E: Quebec (Sleno) vs. Prince Edward Island (Hope)
Sheet F: British Columbia (Watson) vs. Northern Ontario (Hackner)
Sheet G: Alberta (Armstrong) vs. Ontario (Delaney)
Sheet H: Newfoundland & Labrador (Oke) vs. Saskatchewan (Wilson)
Sheet A: New Brunswick (Brennen) vs. Prince Edward Island (Hope)
Sheet B: Saskatchewan (Syrota) vs. Ontario (Curtis)
Sheet C: Alberta (Foster) vs. Northern Ontario (Ward)
Sheet D: British Columbia (Klebe) vs. Manitoba (Wooley)
Draw 15 (4 p.m.)
Sheet E: Northwest Territories (Delorey) vs. Yukon (Hilderman)
Sheet F: Ontario Host (Lyle) vs. Manitoba (Franklin)
Sheet G: New Brunswick (MacDiarmid) vs. Nova Scotia (Ogden)
Sheet C: Nova Scotia (Labelle) vs. Yukon (Johnson)
Sheet D: Quebec (Trudel) vs. Newfoundland & Labrador (Rockwell)
Draw 16 (7:30 p.m.)
Sheet A: Alberta (Armstrong) vs. Northern Ontario (Hackner)
Sheet B: Quebec (Sleno) vs. Saskatchewan (Wilson)
Sheet C: Newfoundland & Labrador (Oke) vs. Prince Edward Island (Hope)
Sheet D: British Columbia (Watson) vs. Ontario (Delaney)
Sheet E: New Brunswick (Brennen) vs. Ontario (Curtis)
Sheet F: Alberta (Foster) vs. Manitoba (Wooley)
Sheet G: Saskatchewan (Syrota) vs. Prince Edward Island (Hope)
Sheet H: British Columbia (Klebe) vs. Northern Ontario (Ward)


  • Guelph Sports Journal