Baggataway Cup 2021

Brock Badgers join Baggataway Cup field

GUELPH – The field is set for this weekend’s Baggataway Cup tournament at North Bay’s Nipissing University.

The Brock Badgers became the sixth team in the Canadian University Field Lacrosse Association’s championship tournament when they dropped the McMaster Marauders 15-1 Monday night at St. Catharines.

Brock joins the Guelph Gryphons, Bishop’s Gaiters, Queen’s Gaels, Trent Excalibur and host Nipissing Lakers.

All games in the tournament are elimination games and they’re to start with a pair of quarterfinal games Friday.

Semifinals are set for Saturday and the championship match is to go Sunday.

Seeding of the teams and the exact schedule are expected to be announced today.

Four-time defending champion Western Mustangs were beaten in a tournament play-in game Sunday by the Gryphons.

Guelph has won the title five times, but not since 2014 which is also the last time they were in the championship game. In all, the Gryphons have made 10 appearances in the final since 1996. It was first contested in 1985.

Brock has won the Baggataway Cup 18 times, but not since 2009 when they won it for the 17th time in 21 years.

McGill Redbirds and McMaster Marauders have won it twice apiece and Bishop’s Gaiters have won it once.


  • Guelph Sports Journal