D10 girls’ basketball celebrate its all-stars

GUELPH – The District 10 high school girls’ basketball season came to an end Wednesday night at the Guelph Gryphons Athletics Centre when the district held its annual all-star games.

For many of the senior players, the game will be their last at the high school level.

The junior game started the all-star doubleheader and the White team rallied from a nine-point deficit at halftime to beat the Dark team 52-37.

Olivia Brown of St. James led White with 11 points while Ella Farrelly of St. James had nine, Amanda Lago of St. James seven, Koby Commandant of Ross and Isabella Banni of Lourdes six each, Emma Capper of Ross five, Olga Llander of Guelph CVI four and Eve Elford of GCVI and Megan Beamish of Ross two apiece.

Scoring for Dark were Kendal MacGregor of Orangeville with 10, Emily Bell of Orangeville seven, Victoria Tesar of Orangeville six, Nicole Cudmore of Centre Wellington and Ella MacDonald of Orangeville four and Madeline Tavares of Bishop Macdonell, Kara den Hoed of Centre Wellington and Beth Penton of Centre Wellington two apiece.

Others picked to play in the game were Elizabeth Malone of St. James, Emilie Franz of Orangeville and the Centennial pair of Rachel Manongdo and Maddie Patrick.

White also won the senior game as they prevailed 62-48.

Alicia Higgins of Bishop Mac led White with 18 points while she was followed by Grace Mencfeld of St. James with 15, Maja Gadzinska of Bishop Mac 13, Cassidy Andrews GCVI seven, Tina Qiu of GCVI four, Payton Cathcart of St. James three and Vanessa Tassone of Bishop Mac two.

Amy Gray of Centennial had nine for Dark while Sami Romero of Lourdes had eight, Centennial teammates Jocelyn Newby and Sarah Cobey seven each, Alicia Bowering of Orangeville six, Krista Gott of Orangeville four, Clodagh Stalker of Ross three and Ella Claridge of Orangeville and Sarah Hopkins of Ross two apiece.

Others selected to play in the game were Ashley Coverdale of Bishop Mac, Maria Lukic of GCVI, Lauralee Mackeigan of St. James and Breanne Murray of Orangeville.

League MVPs were presented with their trophies prior to each game. Mencfeld was the senior MVP while Farrelly was the junior MVP.

  • Guelph Sports Journal