Disera navigates sloppy course for Guelph Cross win

GUELPH — Peter Disera of the Norco Factory cross-country cycling team left all others in the slop of the Centennial Park course as he captured the feature event of Sunday’s Guelph Cross meet.

Disera completed the 18.9-kilometre race around the park in 57 minutes and 30 seconds to finish almost four minutes ahead of runner-up Cameron Jette, an independent rider. Jette was 15 seconds ahead of third-place finisher Anton Varabei of Toronto Hustle who edged fourth-place finisher Erik Box of Vélocolour by one second. They were also the top four in the elite 1 men’s class.

The win pushed Disera to first place the class standings with 70 points. He’s competed in three of the races, won two of them and placed second in the other. Varabei is second at 68.

The fifth- and sixth-place finishers in Sunday’s feature were the top two in the elite 2 men’s class, North Hub Bike Shop teammates Luke Hlavenka and Corey Brioschi. Hlavenka was fifth in 1:03:37 while Brioschi was sixth in 1:03:52.

The course used for the series of races on the sixth stop of the Ontario Cup cycle-cross tour was near the Joe Kaine baseball diamond end of the park and wound up and across the park’s hill several times. With the feature event for riders in the elite men’s 1 and 2 classes being the last race of several on the drizzly day, the course was slick and muddy.

Tim Marshall beat Morning Glory Cycling Club teammate Jamie Sprules by 19 seconds to win the master 1 men’s 18.9 km race. Marshall finished in 1:01:56.

Independent rider Michael Nazwaski won the 13.5 km junior men’s race in 44:39, edging Levi Ogryzlo of Cyclepath Oakville Race Team by five seconds.

Darren De Ruiter of Cyclepath Oakville won the elite 3 men’s 13.5 km event in 46:27. Mark Lancia of AWI Racing was just over three minutes behind in second.

Galen Kennedy of Bateman’s Bike Co. took the master 2 men’s 13.5 km race in 46:00. David Coughlin of Vélocolour was second in 46:17.

All other races with the exception of the peewee boys’ and girls’ events were 10.8 km in length. The peewee boys’ race was 8.1 km and the peewee girls’ race was 5.4 km.

Jacques Cormier of Midweek Cycling Club won the single speed men’s race in 38:31 while Michael Jaffray of To Wheels Epic Sports Performance was second, three and a half minutes behind.

Ashley Barson of Focus CX Canada took the elite women’s race in 40:47 to finish exactly four minutes ahead of runner-up Katie Ozolins, an independent rider.

Valerie Flower of Cyclepath Oakville Race Team won the masters women’s race in 42:51 while Kathleen MacEwen of Lapdogs Cycling Club was just less than a minute and a half behind.

Marlee Vanderlee of Energy Cycling Club took the under-23 women’s race in 50:41.

Andrew Edmunds of Guelph’s Crimps Cycling Club won the elite 4 men’s race. He was more than a minute and a half ahead of runner-up Ryan Kent of Bikes On Wheels.

Chris Ferrell of Woodstock Cycling Club was the winner in the masters 3 men’s event in 39:48. He was just under a minute ahead of Marc Kell Whitehead of Vélocolour while Robert Nespolo of the host Speed River Cycling Club was a finisher in the class.

Will Smith of Centurion Next Wave Cycling Team won the cadet men’s class with a time of 37:41 while Finlay MacEwen of Kallisto-FCV P/B Peloton was second in 39:31.

The cadet women’s class win went to Kelly Lawson of Centurion Next Wave Cycling Team in 41:36. She lapped the field.

Centurion Next Wave Cycling Team clubmates Ian Ackert and Will Smith were the top two in the under-17 men’s class. Ackert won in 36:07 while Smith just over a minute and a half behind.

Centurion Next Wave Cycling Team riders also took the top two spots in the under-17 women’s class with Ava Holmgren winning in 41:19 and Kelly Lawson finishing 17 seconds behind in second.

Connor McInnis of Midweek Cycling Club took the peewee boys’ race in 34:43 while Ruby Jardeleza-Toole of Blacksmith Cycle Club took the peewee girls’ event in 40:10.

  • Guelph Sports Journal