Mohawks a win away from league final

HAGERSVILLE – The Elora Mohawks are a win away from advancing to the Ontario Junior B Lacrosse League’s championship series.

Three goals in the final minutes of the third game of the Western Conference final Friday night at the Iroquois Lacrosse Arena gave the Mohawks their second consecutive one-goal victory, a 10-9 win over the Six Nations Rebels. That victory gave the Mohawks a 2-1 lead in the best-of-five series.

Elora’s power play played a factor in the win as they hit for five goals on their eight power plays. Their discipline also played a factor as they didn’t allow the Rebels to go on a power play in the game.

The play of goaltender Landon Kells also played a factor in his team’s win as the Mohawks were outshot 57-45.

Six Nations led 3-2 at the end of the first period, 8-6 after the second and 9-7 with 10 minutes to go in regulation time.

Kurtis Woodland’s power-play goal for the Mohawks at 10:19 of the third closed the gap to a single goal and Cole Spear’s power-play goal eight seconds later tied it.

The unassisted winner by Blake Lewis came with both teams at full strength with 2:28 to go in the third.

Woodland finished with four goals for the Mohawks while Spear added a hat trick. Klayton Hoelscher scored twice and the winner by Lewis was his lone goal of the game. Tyrus Rehanek, Spear and Dean Sealey each had two assists while Mason Noble, Josh Rex, A.J. Skirving, Woodland, Hoelscher and Hyatt Welsh each had one.

Riley Miller had a hat trick for Six Nations while Wes Whitlow tallied twice and Chayton King, Kahn General, Daylen Hill and Gates Abrams each had a single goal. Justin Martin and Kobe Whitcomb each had three assists while General and goaltender Daniel Hill had two each and Miller, Whitlow, Kobe Whitcomb, Gates Abrams, Waylon Abrams and Adam Martin each had one.

Six Nations outshot Elora 57-45 and Daniel Hill took the loss in net.

The Mohawks can win the conference title with a victory at the Elora and District Community Centre Sunday. Game time is 7 p.m.

If Six Nations wins that game, the fifth and deciding game of the series will be played Monday at the Iroquois Lacrosse Arena starting at 8 p.m.

Winner of the series plays the winner of the Eastern Conference final between the Green Gaels of Clarington and the Akwesasne Indians. Akwesasne leads the best-of-five series 2-1 following a 13-9 win at Hampton Friday night. They’re to play there again at the Darlington Arena Saturday starting at 7 p.m. Fifth game of that series, should it be needed, is slated for Hampton Sunday at 2 p.m.

Akwesasne is to host the national championship Founders Cup tournament Aug. 12 to 19.

The Mohawks have won the national championship tournament five times. They won it the very first time it was contested in 1964 when they were based in Guelph. All the other championship wins came after they moved to Elora as they won it in 1967, 1968, 1976 and 2005.

Ontario teams have won the national team title each of the last eight years and 17 times in the last 18 years. In the 54-year history of the event, non-Ontario teams have won it six times.


Mohawks 10 Rebels 9
First Period
1. Six Nations, W.Whitlow (Miller, J.Martin) 0:49
2. Six Nations, King (W.Whitlow, General) 5:11
3. Elora, Woodland (Rehanek, Spear) 9:46 pp
4. Elora, Woodland (Spear, Sealey) 13:33 pp
5. Six Nations, Miller (J.Martin) 19:06
Penalties: Skye SN (high sticking, high sticking major), 9:35; Ristov Elora (slashing), 10:36.
Second Period
6. Six Nations, Miller (Whitcomb, G.Abrams) 1:17
7. Elora, Hoelscher (Rehanek) 2:58
8. Elora, Spear (Noble, Rex) 5:48
9. Elora, Woodland (Skirving, Sealey) 8:51
10. Six Nations, General (W.Abrams, Whitcomb) 10:55
11. Six Nations, W.Whitlow (A.Martin, Daniel Hill) 15:29
12. Six Nations, Day.Hill (Dan.Hill) 16:51
13. Elora, Spear (Woodland) 18:28 pp
14. Six Nations, G.Abrams (Whitcomb, General) 19:14
Penalties: General SN (roughing), 6:19; W.Whitlow SN (illegal cross checking), 11:17; W.Whitlow SN (delay of game), Francis Elora (delay of game), 16:53; G.Abrams SN (illegal cross checking), 18:28.
Third Period
15. Elora, Hoelscher (unassisted) 2:34
16. Six Nations, Miller (J.Martin, Whitcomb) 3:03
17. Elora, Woodland (unassisted) 10:19 pp
18. Elora, Spear (Hoelscher, Welsh) 10:27 pp
19. Elora, Lewis (unassisted) 17:32
Penalties: W.Abrams SN (slashing), 9:22; W.Whitlow SN (high sticking), 10:27.
Shots on Goal
Elora                  8-23-14–45
Six Nations     17-22-18–57
Goalies: Kells (W, 57 shots-48 saves), Elora; Dan.Hill (L, 45 shots-35 saves), Six Nations.
Power Plays (goals-chances): Elora 5-8; Six Nations 0-0.
  • Guelph Sports Journal