Mohawks down Owen Sound in overtime

OWEN SOUND – The Elora Mohawks struck for three goals in overtime to hand the Owen Sound North Stars an 11-9 setback in Ontario junior B lacrosse league play Thursday night at the Bayshore Community Centre.

The Mohawks yielded the first three goals of the game before coming back to tie it 3-3 by the end of the first period. Elora led 8-5 at the end of the second before Owen Sound rallied with all three goals scored in the third.

Zack Cameron hit for five goals for the Mohawks while Sam Dramnitzke scored twice and Cam Coughlin, Justin Beaulieu, Jayden Bushey and Owen Ristov each had one goal. Dean Sealey had four assists with Hyatt Welsh getting three, Brett Harrison and Jake Bauman collecting two apiece and Nathan Bolger, Louie Ristov, Cameron, Jacob Black, Dramnitzke and Coughlin getting one each.

Dominic Millman had a hat trick for Owen Sound while Mike Fiegehen had two goals and Luke Grimoldby, Hayden Coulter, Brody Caskenette and Colin Kitto had one each. Caskenette and Fiegehen each had three assists and Grimoldby had two. Getting one each were Brandon Stewart, Raiden Medwedyke, Brady Stewart, Cole Wadell and Coulter.

The Mohawks improve to 5-1-1 with the win while Owen Sound falls to 3-5-1.

The game was the first of three in four days for Elora. The Mohawks are to play the Niagara Thunderhawks (2-1-1) at Niagara-on-the-Lake Friday at 8 p.m. and host the Guelph Regals (2-4-1) Sunday at 7 p.m. at the Elora and District Community Centre.


Mohawks 11 North Stars 9 (OT)
Elora                  3-2-3-3–11
Owen Sound       3-5-0-1–9
First Period
1. Owen Sound, Mike Fiegehen (Brandon Stewart) 5:56
2. Owen Sound, Dominic Millman (Luke Grimoldby, Raiden Medwedyke) 8:03
3. Owen Sound, Luke Grimoldby (Brody Caskenette, Mike Fiegehen) 12:22 pp
4. Elora, Cam Coughlin (Nathan Bolger) 15:34 sh
5. Elora, Zack Cameron (unassisted) 16:58 sh
6. Elora, Justin Beaulieu (Louie Ristov) 17:46
Penalties: Andrew Lavergne OSnd (holding), 9:27; Justin Beaulieu Elora (holding), 12:08; Jacob Black Elora (illegal cross checking), 15:00.
Second Period
7. Owen Sound, Dominic Millman (Mike Fiegehen, Brody Caskenette) 2:19 pp
8. Elora, Sam Dramnitzke (Brett Harrison, Hyatt Welsh) 3:00
9. Owen Sound, Hayden Coulter (Luke Grimoldby, Brady Stewart) 3:52
10. Owen Sound, Dominic Millman (Mike Fiegehen, Brody Caskenette) 6:09 pp
11. Elora, Zack Cameron (Jake Bauman, Dean Sealey) 12:34
12. Owen Sound, Brody Caskenette (Cole Wadell) 15:54
13. Owen Sound, Colin Kitto (unassisted) 18:00 sh
Penalties: Kyle Detweiller Elora (slashing), 1:37; Jacob Black Elora (slashing), 5:08; Rhett Simmons OSnd (high sticking), 7:53; Justin Beaulieu Elora (slashing), Mike Fiegehen OSnd (slashing), 11:55; Kurt Smith OSnd (slashing), 17:44.
Third Period
14. Elora, Sam Dramnitzke (Zack Cameron, Dean Sealey) 2:26
15. Elora, Jayden Bushey (Jake Bauman, Jacob Black) 3:38
16. Elora, Zack Cameron (Sam Dramnitzke, Dean Sealey) 16:34
Penalty: Kyle Detweiller Elora (holding), 12:05.
17. Elora, Zack Cameron (Hyatt Welsh, Dean Sealey) 0:38
18. Owen Sound, Mike Fiegehen (Hayden Coulter) 1:01
19. Elora, Owen Ristov (Cam Coughlin) 6:21
20. Elora, Zack Cameron (Hyatt Welsh, Brett Harrison) 6:48
Penalties: none.
Shots on Goal
Elora                   21-13-13-9–56
Owen Sound      12-17-12-6–47
Goalies: Sam Hadley (W, 47 shots-38 saves), Elora; Kaleb Martin (L, 56 shots-45 saves), Owen Sound.
Power Plays (goals-chances): Elora 0-3; Owen Sound 3-5.


  • Guelph Sports Journal