National titles for Lalonde and two Speed River teams

KINGSTON – Genevieve Lalonde of Guelph’s Speed River Track and Field Club captured a national cross-country individual championship and her Speed River club grabbed two national team titles.

Lalonde, an Olympic steeplechaser, won the national senior women’s cross-country title Saturday as she completed the 10-kilometre race in 33:47.3 to finish just over 19 seconds ahead of runner-up Natasha Wodak of the Prairie Inn Harriers Racing Team. Claire Sumner of Physi-Kult Kingston was third in 34:16.8.

Speed River also took the team title in the class. Katelyn Ayers was fourth in 34:29.3 while other Speed River runners were Hannah Woodhouse (35:43.3), Rachel Hannah (36:57.9) and Sarah Wismer (39:04.7).

Former Guelph Gryphons Lindsay Carson (34:56.0) was eighth overall, Madeline Yungblut (36:36.1) was 24th and Jenn Dowling-Medley (37:26.3) was 32nd.

Mike Tate of Speed River was second in the senior men’s 10k race. He finished in 30:07.6 while Lucas Bruchet of Vancouver Thunderbirds won in 29:54.9.

Former Speed River runner Evan Esselink was third in 30:13.9.

John Mason of Speed River was 36th in 31:54.4.

Guelph-based Crimps Cycling Club had a team in the race and they finished 12th. Members of the team included Kyle Boorsma (32:55.8), Derek Snider (33:12.2), Cody Murray (33:59.7), John Perrot (34:16.9), Ben Boulay (34:42.6), Jacob Jamnicky (35:45.3), Robert Gutgesell (38:19.7) and Matthew Stanley (39:49.5).

Others with local connections included Benjamin Preisner (sixth in 30:30.7), Yves Sikubwabo (seventh in 30:37.8), Ben Flanagan (ninth in 30:41.1), Tristan Woodfine (30:56.7), Taylor Forbes (31:17.1) and Billy Bostad (33:55.1).

Speed River also claimed the national crown in the men’s under-20 class as all four scoring runners finished between 10th and 21st. Members of the team included Gavin Hughes (25:26.8), Marcus Kemp (25:45.7), David Poloni (25:54.5), Nicholas Bannon (25:58.5), Luke Mawhinney (26:27.0), Adam Schmidt (26:37.2), Jason Cousineau (27:42.2), John Wang (28:44.5) and Liam Ogilvie (28:49.0).

Tyler Dozzi of UBC Track & Field Club won the individual title in 24:48.9 while Andrew Alexander of University of Toronto Track Club was second in 24:51.0 and Evan Burke of London Western TFC was third in 24:55.1.

Anne Forsyth of Speed River was second in the women’s under-20 class in 20:32.9. Brogan MacDougall of Physi-Kult Kingston won in 20:20.7 while Maggie Smith of Halifast Athletics was third in 20:53.4.

Hope Harnack of Speed River finished in 23:37.8.

Michael Gill of Lions Valley Athletics won the masters men’s race in 26:56.4 while Andrea Smith of OMBP won the masters women’s race in 29:49.9.

Kendra Lewis of Vancouver Olympic Club won the girls’ under-18 race in 14:12.0.

The Speed River team finished ninth. Members of the team included Haley Davis (14:55.8), Tiana LoStracco (15:09.8), Annemieke Tucker (15:52.7), Catie Robinson (15:57.5), Jenevieve Scobbie (16:17.7), Amber Champagne (16:22.3), Taylor Embree (16:39.1) and Clover Stempski Kelly (16:55.4).

Ron MacLean of the University of Regina Track Club won the boys’ under-18 title in 19:03.9.

The Speed River club’s team finished fourth thanks to the efforts of Jackson Bull (19:49.2), Luke Cabral (20:03.5), Tennessee Tremain (20:15.4), Talman Young (20:19.4), Owen Duffy (21:07.4) and Sean Cromack (21:17.1).


  • Guelph Sports Journal