Patriots close in on Pollock title with another win in OT

WALKERTON – The Mount Forest Patriots are a win away from repeating as champions of the Provincial Junior Hockey League’s Pollock Division following another victory in overtime Monday night at the Walkerton Community Centre.

The Patriots edged the Walkerton Hawks 5-4 on Klayton Hoelscher’s goal at 6:03 of overtime to give Mount Forest a 3-1 lead in the best-of-seven series. All four games in the series have gone to OT with the Patriots getting all three of their wins by 5-4 scores and Walkerton taking Game 3 by a 4-3 count.

Monday, Walkerton scored the only goal of the first period before Mount Forest shot ahead 3-2 by the end of the second. However, the Patriots needed a goal by Brock Philips with 8:17 to go in regulation time to pull even and eventually force OT.

Klayton Hoelscher finished with two goals for the Patriots while Troy Weber, Michael Stefanelli and Philips had one apiece. Ryley Cribbin assisted on two of the goals while Jack Birkett, Hayden Coulter, Thomas Haffner, Weber, Stefanelli and Ryan Maksymyk each had one assist.

Walkerton received goals from Quinton Maddock, Brendan Welsh, Justin Donnelly and Brady Stewart while Ryan Shaw had two assists and Justin Donnelly and Chris RolfVonDenBauman had one each.

The Patriots outshot the Hawks 39-17 and both teams went 1-for-3 on their power plays.

David Lobsinger had the win in net for the Patriots while Mathew Donnelly was charged with the loss for Walkerton.

The Patriots can wrap up the division title on home ice Wednesday in Game 5 of the series. Game time at the Mount Forest and District Sports Complex is 8 p.m.


Patriots 5 Hawks 4 (OT)
First Period
1. Walkerton, Maddock (Shaw, J.Donnelly), 13:34 pp
Penalty: K.Hoelscher MtF (interference), 11:41.
Second Period
2. Mount Forest, Weber (Birkett, Coulter), 3:11
3. Mount Forest, Stefanelli (unassisted), 7:55
4. Walkerton, Welsh (Shaw, RolfVonDenBauman), 11:15
5. Mount Forest, K.Hoelscher (Haffner, Cribbin), 15:32 pp
Penalties: Butchart MtF (high sticking), 4:48; Deyell Walk (roughing), 15:19; Welsh Walk (slashing), 15:47; Butchart MtF (slashing), 19:37.
Third Period
6. Walkerton, J.Donnelly (unassisted), 3:56
7. Walkerton, Stewart (unassisted), 10:52 sh
8. Mount Forest, Philips (Weber, Stefanelli), 11:43
Penalty: Somani Walk (slashing), 8:56.
9. Mount Forest, K.Hoelscher (Maksymyk, Cribbin), 6:03
Penalties: none.
Shots on Goal
Mount Forest     11-13-10-5–39
Walkerton                  4-7-4-2–17
Goalies: Lobsinger (W, 17 shots-13 saves), Mount Forest; Mathew Donnelly (L, 39 shots-34 saves), Walkerton.
Power Plays (goals-chances): Mount Forest 1-3; Walkerton 1-3.
  • Guelph Sports Journal