Patriots lead Pollock final with another win in OT

WALKERTON – Troy Weber’s goal 14:52 into overtime gave the Mount Forest Patriots a 5-4 victory over the Walkerton Hawks in Provincial Junior Hockey League Pollock Division final playoff series play Friday night at the Walkerton Community Centre.

The teams scored twice apiece in the first period before the Patriots netted two goals in the second. Walkerton rallied to tie it and force the overtime with two goals in the third.

The Patriots lead the series 2-0 as they also took the opener 5-4 in OT at Mount Forest last weekend.

Friday, Thomas Haffner scored twice for the Patriots while Blair Butchart, Michael Stefanelli and Weber added single goals. Ryley Cribbin and Butchart each had two assists while Klayton Hoelscher, Brock Philips, Brady Becker and Haffner had one apiece.

Justin Donnelly, Brady Stewart, Ryan Shaw and Brendan Welsh scored the goals for Walkerton. Chris RolfVonDenBauman and Josh Deyell collected two assists each while Quinton Maddock, Justin McCrae, Gary Mantz and Matt Geifert had one each.

The teams each recorded 39 shots on net. The Patriots went 2-for-5 on their power play while Walkerton went 1-for-7.

David Lobsinger picked up the win in net for the Patriots while Mathew Donnelly was charged with the loss for Walkerton.

Third game of the series is slated for the Mount Forest and District Sports Complex Saturday at 8 p.m.


Patriots 5 Hawks 4 (OT)
First Period
1. Walkerton, J.Donnelly (Maddock, McCrae) 1:24
2. Mount Forest, Butchart (Cribbin) 10:11 pp
3. Mount Forest, Haffner (Butchart, K.Hoelscher) 11:53 pp
4. Walkerton, Stewart (RolfVonDenBauman, Deyell) 19:59 sh
Penalties: Francis MtF (tripping), 3:31; Geifert Walk (holding), 9:15; Zivojevic Walk (high sticking), 9:54; Philips MtF (head contact, head contact misconduct), 13:40; Lantz MtF (slashing), 16:02; Welsh Walk (slashing), 19:03.
Second Period
5. Mount Forest, Haffner (Cribbin, Philips) 13:12
6. Mount Forest, Stefanelli (Becker, Butchart) 15:45
Penalties: Haffner MtF (holding), 5:12; Bench Walk (too many men), 8:08; Philips MtF (roughing), Elder Walk (holding stick), 14:01; Birkett MtF (hooking), 17:54; Becker MtF (head contact, head contact misconduct, abuse of officials misconduct, second misconduct game misconduct), 19:58.
Third Period
7. Walkerton, Shaw (Deyell, Mantz) 7:46 pp
8. Walkerton, Welsh (Geifert, RolfVonDenBauman) 16:39
Penalty: Aitken MtF (interference), 6:19.
9. Mount Forest, Weber (Haffner) 14:52
Penalties: Philips MtF (unsportsmanlike conduct), Maddock Walk (unsportsmanlike conduct), 9:51; Deyell Walk (slashing), 12:27; Bench MtF (bench minor), 14:52.
Shots on Goal
Mount Forest     10-12-10-7–39
Walkerton               14-9-9-7–39
Goalies: Lobsinger (W, 39 shots-35 saves), Mount Forest; M.Donnelly (L, 39 shots-34 saves), Walkerton.
Power Plays (goals-chances): Mount Forest 2-5; Walkerton 1-7.
  • Guelph Sports Journal