Seven wins for Speed River at Loaring Classic

WINDSOR – Members of the Speed River Track and Field Club of Guelph scored seven victories at the Johnny Loaring Classic track and field meet Saturday.

Ross Proudfoot won the men’s 1,500 metres in three minutes, 46.40 seconds to finish just over a second ahead of runner-up Lex Williams of Saucony/True.

Connor Black of Speed River was fifth in 3:51.01, Mark Patton of Speed River 10th in 3:55.45 and Delohnni Nicol-Samuel of Speed River 11th in 3:57.27.

Speed River’s Shyvonne Roxborough won the women’s 100 metres in 12.03 seconds. Tameran Defreitas of South Simcoe was second, 0.12 seconds behind.

The women’s 100-metre hurdles win went to Sarah Hammond of Speed River in 13.65 seconds. She edged runner-up Joy Spear Chief-Morris of London Western who finished in 13.81 seconds.

Gregory MacNeill of Speed River took the win in the men’s 400-metre hurdles in 52.10 seconds. He crossed the line 2.93 seconds ahead of Saj Alhaddad of Ottawa Lions.

Naomi Lance of Speed River claimed the win in the women’s 200 metres. She won in 24.28 seconds. Defreitas was second at 24.48 seconds and was followed by Jenna Smith of Speed River in third at 24.53 and Emily Bowerman of Speed River fifth at 25.58.

Speed River runners took the top two spots in the men’s 200 metres. Graeme Thompson won at 21.59 seconds, just ahead of Mohamed Yassin who recorded a time of 21.64 seconds.

Joerg Ahne of Speed River had a best leap of 6.97 metres to win the men’s long jump. Arren Young of Project Athletics was second at 6.87 and Mark Emode of Speed River third at 6.57. Shawn Beaudoin, who competes in OUA track and field for the Guelph Gryphons, was fifth at 6.21, a distance equaled by Speed River’s Owen Hebb.

Mostafa Elkurdy of Speed River was second in the men’s 800 metres in 1:53.57. Nick MacMackin of Saint John won at 1:52.55.

Bowerman was third in the women’s long jump with a leap of 4.92 metres. Emily Omahen of the University of Windsor won at 5.45 and Terece Brown of The Gazelles was second at 5.12.

Olympian Melissa Bishop, running for Nike, won the women’s 1,500 metres in 4:10.30. Shannon Osika of Saucony/True was second at 4:11.38 and Nicole Sifuentes of Saucony/True third at 4:14.39. Speed River’s Olympic steeplechaser Genevieve Lalonde was sixth at 4:23.76 and followed by clubmates Katelyn Ayers (seventh at 4:24.49), Carise Thompson (eighth at 4:29.44) and Charlotte Ward (ninth at 4:47.13).

Sarah Welch of Speed River was seventh in the women’s 800 metres in 2:21.23. Independent runner Haley Meier won at 2:09.94.

  • Guelph Sports Journal