Sharratt and Schneider capture three-in-one titles

GUELPH – Guelph runners David Sharratt and Jennifer-Lynn Schneider claimed the title in the annual Thanksgiving Day Road Races three-in-one championship.

The event gives them an overall time for their performances in the day’s three-kilometre, mile and five-kilometre races.

Sharratt was the overall and men’s winner as he completed the three races in a time of 34 minutes and 37 seconds. Jeff Rowthorn of Mount Hope was the runner-up in 38:37.

Schneider was the top female finisher and was third overall in 42:28. Second in the female category was Sara Lawrance of Guelph in 47:27. She was fifth overall and she edged Sarah-Ann Black of Brampton by 25 seconds who was third in class and sixth overall.

Fourth overall and third in the male category was David Lawrance of Guelph in 42:47.

A total of 13 runners competed in all three.

Sharratt won the Nicolas Lambden Memorial Mile in 5:25.52 while Thomas Tielen was second in 5:42.37 and Joel Smith third in 5:51.25. Using a kick on the stretch run, Olwyn Reed was top female finisher in 6:38.94 while Schneider was second in 6:40.79 and Sara Lawrance third in 7:05.19. The race had 61 participants.

Brendan Hancock took the five-kilometre race as he finished the distance in 16:48.74. Adam Huras was second in 16:51.29 and Nick Xie third in 17:32.53. Katie Peach took the female class in 19:33.88 with Clover Stempski second in 20:12.88 and Cara Kasdorf third in 20:47.20. It was the most popular race of the day attracting 164 competitors.

Brody McKnight took top spot in the one-kilometre race as he was timed in 4:19.29. Oakley Cummings was second in the boys’ class at 4:34.16 and Matthias Webers was third in class in 4:53.44. Casey Barr was third overall and first in the girls’ class at 4:50.82 while Molly Barr was second in class in 5:02.97 and Ruth Waller was third in class in 5:04.76. There were 42 in all in the race.

Tielen took the three-kilometre race in 10:33.50 while Sharratt was second in 4:01.64 and Ben Smith third in 4:13.98. Schneider was tops in the female category in 13:16.04 with Lindsay Robinson second in 13:16.04 and Emilia Lukens third in 14:43.71. The race had a field of 66.

Marcus Noble won the Victor Matthews Memorial 10k with Robert Brouillette second and Liam Stiles third while Emily Patton was the female winner in the event that had a field of six. Times were not available.


  • Guelph Sports Journal