Storm strikes for their first win in conference final

GUELPH – The Guelph Storm struck for three goals in the third period Monday to claim their first win in the Ontario Hockey League’s Western Conference final.

Those three goals gave the Storm a 5-2 victory over the Saginaw Spirit at the Sleeman Centre. The Spirit had won the previous two games of the series, both played at Saginaw’s Dow Event Center.

The Storm scored the only goal of the first period and added another one in the opening minute of the second before Saginaw fought back to tie it with a pair of goals later in the period.

The Spirit were without goaltender Ivan Prosvetov and Justin Murray, both handed suspensions by the league following separate incidents in Saturday’s game at Saginaw.

Prosvetov was ejected from that game in the final two minutes of regulation time for batting a puck into the spectator area at a stoppage of play. The league reviewed the incident and imposed the minimum five-game suspension. Saginaw will have to win the conference final for Prosvetov to play again in this year’s playoffs.

Murray was also given a game misconduct Saturday for a checking-to-the-head penalty. The league also looked at that incident and imposed a four-game suspension.

Zachary Roberts, Isaac Ratcliffe, Cedric Ralph, Nate Schnarr and Keegan Stevenson scored a goal apiece for the Storm Monday while Nick Suzuki had two assists and Fedor Gordeev, Ralph, Domenico Commisso, Sean Durzi, Dmitri Samorukov and Jack Hanley each had one.

Owen Tippett and Reagan O’Grady had the goals for Saginaw while assists went to Albert Michnac, Cole Perfetti and Cole Coskey.

The Storm outshot the Spirit 46-22 and went 1-for-3 on their power play while holding Saginaw scoreless on two power plays.

Anthony Popovich turned aside 20 shots for the win in the Storm net while rookie netminder Tristan Lennox made 41 saves for Saginaw.

Fourth game of the series is to go Wednesday at the Sleeman Centre. Game time is 7 p.m.


Storm 5 Spirit 2
Saginaw     0-2-0–2
Guelph        1-1-3–5
First Period
1. Guelph, Zachary Roberts (Fedor Gordeev, Cedric Ralph), 15:49
Penalty: Zachary Roberts Gue (interference), 1:53.
Second Period
2. Guelph, Isaac Ratcliffe (Domenico Commisso, Nick Suzuki), 0:54
3. Saginaw, Owen Tippett (Albert Michnac), 3:59
4. Saginaw, Reagan O’Grady (Cole Perfetti, Cole Coskey), 18:36
Penalty: Hayden Davis Sag (cross checking), 8:49;
Third Period.
5. Guelph, Cedric Ralph (Sean Durzi), 2:20
6. Guelph, Nate Schnarr (Dmitri Samorukov, Nick Suzuki), 12:58 pp
7. Guelph, Keegan Stevenson (Jack Hanley), 18:02 en
Penalties: Reagan O’Grady Sag (interference), 12:03; Camaryn Baber Sag (hooking), 14:48; Markus Phillips Gue (delay of game), 19:25.
Shots on Goal
Saginaw       5-11-6–22
Guelph     16-15-15–46
Goalies: Lennox (L, 45 shots-41 saves), Saginaw; Popovich (W, 22 shots-20 saves), Guelph.
Power Plays (goals-chances): Saginaw 0-2; Guelph 1-3.


  • Guelph Sports Journal