Storm uses four-goal spree to square OHL final

GUELPH – The Guelph Storm erupted for four consecutive goals on their way to tying the Ontario Hockey League’s championship series at two victories apiece with a 5-4 win over the Ottawa 67’s Wednesday night at the Sleeman Centre.

Ottawa opened the scoring in the first five minutes of the game before the Storm scored four in a row with two coming in the first period. The Storm led 2-1 at the end of the first and 4-2 after the second and fired a power-play goal for the eventual winner in the third minute of the third.

The 67’s made it close with two goals late in the third, the second one coming with three seconds to play.

Alexey Toropchenko connected for a pair of goals for the Storm while Nate Schnarr, Nick Suzuki and Liam Hawel each scored once. Dmitri Samorukov and Suzuki each had two assists and Domenico Commisso, Sean Durzi, Pavel Gogolev, Cedric Ralph and Isaac Ratcliffe had one apiece.

Ottawa’s goals were scored by Hudson Wilson, Lucas Chiodo, Tye Felhaber and Kyle Maksimovich while Kody Clark had two assists and Marco Rossi, Kevin Bahl, Merrick Rippon, Chiodo, Sasha Chmelevski and Noel Hoefenmayer each had one.

Ottawa outshot the Storm 34-24 including a 16-3 advantage in the third period. Both teams had four power plays with Ottawa getting one power-play goal and the Storm getting two.

Anthony Popovich picked up the win in net for Guelph as he had 30 saves while Ottawa’s Cedric Andree had 19 saves.

The series shifts back to Ottawa’s TD Place for Game 5. It’s set for Friday at 7 p.m.

Wednesday’s win also means the series will return to the Sleeman Centre for Game 6 which is slated for Sunday at 2 p.m.


Storm 5 67’s 4
Ottawa     1-1-2–4
Guelph     2-2-1–5
First Period
1. Ottawa, Hudson Wilson (Kody Clark, Marco Rossi), 4:48
2. Guelph, Nate Schnarr (Dmitri Samorukov, Nick Suzuki), 12:04 pp
3. Guelph, Alexey Toropchenko (Domenico Commisso, Sean Durzi), 13:29
Penalties: Isaac Ratcliffe Gue (check to the head), 9:11; Noel Hoefenmayer Ott (high sticking), 10:20; Sam Bitten Ott (unsportsmanlike conduct), Domenico Commisso Gue (unsportsmanlike conduct), 13:29; Hudson Wilson Ott (roughing), Sean Durzi Gue (high sticking), 19:51.
Second Period
4. Guelph, Alexey Toropchenko (Pavel Gogolev, Cedric Ralph), 6:46
5. Guelph, Nick Suzuki (Isaac Ratcliffe), 13:34
6. Ottawa, Lucas Chiodo (Kevin Bahl, Merrick Rippon), 18:22
Penalties: Noel Hoefenmayer Ott (holding), 3:34; Merrick Rippon Ott (fighting), Zachary Roberts Gue (fighting, helmet misconduct), 6:26.
Third Period
7. Guelph, Liam Hawel (Nick Suzuki, Dmitri Samorukov), 2:28 pp
8. Ottawa, Tye Felhaber (Lucas Chiodo, Kody Clark), 16:05 pp
9. Ottawa, Kyle Maksimovich (Sasha Chmelevski, Noel Hoefenmayer), 19:57
Penalties: Lucas Chiodo Ott (hooking), 0:56; Owen Lalonde Gue (tripping), 3:38; Jack Hanley Gue (high sticking), 8:51; Merrick Rippon Ott (interference), 13:48; Dmitri Samorukov Gue (hooking), 14:32.
Shots on Goal
Ottawa     9-9-16–34
Guelph     8-13-3–24
Goalies: Cedric Andree (L, 24 shots-19 saves), Ottawa; Anthony Popovich (W, 34 shots-30 saves), Guelph.
Power Plays (goals-chances): Ottawa 1-4; Guelph 2-4.
Faceoffs Won: Ottawa 26; Guelph 36.


  • Guelph Sports Journal